Ahh Sister’s Day!

My sister and I (is that correct grammar? I never can tell!) celebrated sister’s day this year, our first time ever!! Forgive me for being under a rock all these years but I had never heard of it before until just recently. So let me take this opportunity to pay a little homage to my lovely, beautiful, goofy sister!
Me and sis

me and sis

me and sis

me and sis

I love you!

I took this opportunity to bake (obviously) and shower my sister with a few other goodies, to reiterate how special she is to me. Her goodies consisted of Cake Pops (recipe and process below), a vanilla bean frap, a cute giraffe print wallet, and a movie. Little did I know that a surprise batch of chocolate chip cookies were awaiting my arrival!! Sorry, I don’t have pictures of those… they vanished. Into thin air I tell you!!!

The process of making the cake pops really isn’t that difficult once you’ve figured out what works for you. If you want the basic instructions to make regular cake pops go to Bakerella’s site. You will find ALL SORTS of goodies, inspiration and just flat out cuteness!!

Cake Pops (version that works best for me):

Cake Pops

1 box red velvet cake mix (you can use any flavor you like!)
1 16 oz. can cream cheese frosting (again, use any kind you like!)
1 package chocolate bark, candy melts, or chocolate pieces
4 tsp shortening (optional)**
lollipop sticks (at least 50)
Styrofoam block, egg carton, or cups (to stand the pops upright)

Cook boxed cake as directed on the box and let it cool completely. Once the cake is cooled, crumble the cake into a large bowl. Add 1 can of frosting mixing thoroughly (you can use your hands which can get messy or a hand mixer which works best for me.) At this point the dough will be sticky and pretty gooey. Place it in the refrigerator for an hour or so if the mixture is too soft to work with. You want to be able to roll a TBS of dough into a ball in your palms and it hold its shape.

Once the dough is sturdy enough to hold its shape, roll the dough into quarter size balls (or go bigger, they are really customizable) and place them on a wax paper lined cookie sheet. If you roll them to quarter size it yields about 45-50 pops. Stick the cookie sheet back in the fridge for 15 minutes just to firm them up a bit. In the mean time, melt less than a handful of chocolate according to the package directions (this is to fasten the sticks to the cake balls).

Dip the end of the lollipop stick in the melted chocolate and stick it about halfway through the cake ball (the melted chocolate acts as glue) and place the stick in the Styrofoam block, or cups or whatever you have on hand. (I used coffee mugs) You want them to stay upright so the cake doesn’t get mushed out of shape.

Cake Pops

Once you have done this with all of the cake balls, pop em back into the fridge while you melt the chocolate (in preferably a somewhat deep bowl) as per packaged directions. (I used a makeshift double boiler and added shortening once the chocolate started to melt because my chocolate is always too thick for dipping. You want the consistency to coat the spoon but to fall from the spoon without glopping off.) Grab your pops and bowl of melted chocolate and get ready for the fun part!!

In one smooth motion gently dip the entire cake part of the pop into the melted chocolate and gently shake off excess, return to bowl/block to set the chocolate. (Or you can add sprinkles, nonpareils, edible glitter, etc to decorate) Be sure to do this as gently as you can. You don’t want bits of cake in your melted chocolate and you don’t want the pops to fall apart. This should go smoothly if your pops are firm enough. Stick the pops in the fridge to help set the chocolate. You can place each pop in a small baggie and tie it off with a bow to gift or just to add cuteness and TA DA!! You have cake pops!

Cake Pops

click here for more pics of these pops :)

I’d say our first sister’s day was a tasty success!!

2 thoughts on “Ahh Sister’s Day!

  1. JEANNETTE!!!!!
    thank you sooo much for the best first sisters day ever! =) I had so much fun spending the day with you! Your cake pops were delicious, and very creative! I love this blog! its my favorite one!! thank you again for everything, and i hope you enjoyed your cookies =D I love you sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much!!!
    love your sister,
    jorshua<3

  2. I love your sister’s day post. I had no idea such a day existed! I whish I would’ve known and spent the day with my sister. I miss her. :-( I love your faces on your cake pops, too!

Leave a Reply

