SMS – Fallen Chocolate Souffle (birthday) Cake

fallen chocolate souffle cake

Oooooh!!! I like THAT one!!!” said my mom as she spied the cake on the cover of the Sweet Melissa cook book the DAY I got it.

I. Was. Saved. Her birthday was coming up and I had absolutely NO IDEA what I was going to bake this year. Sweet Melissa to the rescue! Whew. Team Jeannette averts another disaster. *Crowd goes wild*

The best part: it just so happens to be this week’s “assignment.” Score!

fallen chocolate souffle cake

I skipped the orange zest in the batter simply because I didn’t have any on hand (and with as much as I had to prepare, there was no time to run to the store for ONE orange. No. Time.)

fallen chocolate souffle cake

I followed the recipe as best I could but I fear that I overmixed my dough so it turned out to be more on the dense, rich side rather than airy as I imagined it to be. It wasn’t fragile, it barely sunk in the center, and the edges just looked plain weird to me. But no matter… it was beautiful, tasty and it put a smile on my beautiful mother’s face.

Although she wasn’t too happy about constantly being told to WAIT while I photographed the cake BEFORE she got a slice :) Love ya mom!!

fallen chocolate souffle cake

For the recipe, visit Sarah of Blue Ridge Baker. Thanks a lot Sarah for choosing this, you have saved me time and some nerves :)

fallen chocolate souffle cake

For more pics, click here.

10 thoughts on “SMS – Fallen Chocolate Souffle (birthday) Cake

  1. I totally didn’t even realize that this cake was the one on the cover until you said it. Haha!! Yours looks delish, and any birthday girl would have MORE than happy to receive it!

  2. The cake looks fantastic, I love how it’s decorated with fruit and flowers! How perfect that your mom’s birthday fell around the time this was selected.

  3. I’m so glad you were able to combine this week’s recipe and your mom’s birthday into one successful event! :) The cake looks amazing and I’m glad it made your mom happy.

  4. hotovenwarmheart says:

    Hi hun!

    Thanks so much for the kind words of encouragement you left on my blog. It’s so hard not too get down on yourself when something you bake just doesn’t live up to expectation and get that “WOW” reaction you’re always after, but having friends like you to remind me one “meh” cake does not make me a terrible baker helps tremendously! So glad you’re always there to boost my spirits :)

    You have one lucky Mom, my dear, to have such a caring, thoughtful daughter, who’ll take time and bake a special *from-scratch* cake in order to celebrate her birthday. Your cake looked SO beautiful, especially lined with the candles… I could imagine your family gathering around it, singing happy birthday- what a moment for your Mom to remember and treasure… even if she had to wait a second for “just one more photo!” (What’s so funny about that, is that I do the EXACT same thing- one more thing we have in common!)

    I also have to tell you that those pictures you shared in your latest post with you and the fiance over the weekend are TOO CUTE! He looks like quite the catch! You’ll have to tell me more about him when you get a chance… and are you in the midst of wedding planning? Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help ;)

    Hope you’re doing well my dear! Can’t wait to hear from you again soon!

    <3,
    Joy

  5. Karin says:

    Glad your mom liked the cake! It does look quite impressive on the cover, but I agree the edges of it look kind of strange. When I first unmolded the cake, it kind of reminded me of something I should mention on a food blog…

  6. Oh wow, what a wonderful birthday cake for your mom, and what a sweet daughter you are to bake it for her and make it look so beautiful :) So glad that this was the perfect pick for you this week, how neat!

Leave a Reply

