SMS – Strawberry Lemonade

10-20-08 089 copy

How lovely is it to make something for a baking group without it actually having to be baked? I mean, there’s no baking time in the oven, there’s no waiting for it to come to room temperature… or to come to a temperature that won’t burn your mouth at the very least. It has its pleasant upsides.

This week’s SMS is Strawberry Lemonade.

One thing this recipe made me realize is that I really should invest in a juicer. Even if its just one of those rinky-dink, plastic, bright yellow, handheld ones. I loathe squeezing lemons because I have no strength in my arms. At all. So it was a chore getting an entire cup-o-juice. But I made it. Mostly unscathed.

10-20-08 085 copy

I followed the recipe only changing one thing: I didn’t de-seed the strawberry sauce. My mesh strainer managed to hold back all the thicker strawberry sauce and let seeds in the strained batch anyway. SO I said to heck with it and tossed it all in. A few seeds won’t hurt.

Well, at least until that jungle begins to grow out of your tummy. Then you might have some trouble. ;)

I wouldn’t say this is the most impressive lemonade I’ve ever had, but it wasn’t bad. I do have the insatiable urge to put the lemonade into popsicle molds, tossing in a few chunks of strawberries and freeze them for quick treats. Yum.

10-20-08 091 copy

Thanks to Jessica of My Baking Heart for choosing something daring for this weeks challenge :) Head over to her blog for the recipe.

10 thoughts on “SMS – Strawberry Lemonade

  1. Love the idea to make popsicles!! Those would be awesome this summer. I really enjoyed the lemonade, maybe because it made me forget winter is still many months away…

Leave a Reply

