TWD – Swedish Visiting Cake

10-20-08 688 copy

I wish Swedes would visit me more often.

Because this cake is AWESOME! Honestly, it doesn’t get any simpler OR delicious. Or moist. Or fluffy. Or nutty. Or sweet. Or perfect. I love you Swedish Visiting Cake. You are the apple of my eye.

Speaking of Apples, there’s an apple version of this very cake. And WHOOOO loves baked apples? *shoots both hands straight up into the air* (Look for this recipe a liiiiittle later today. Gotta get it photographed.)

So guess who HAAAD (‘could’ was not an option) to make BOTH versions? *points to self* Do I get some sort of prize for going above-and-beyond the call of duty? Hmmm… how about an extra piece of cake? SOLD!!

10-20-08 674 copy

When I say easy, I mean it. The batter comes together in ten minutes, IF EVEN THAT! You melt some butter, stir some stuff together and dump it in a buttered cast iron skillet. Stick it in the oven and 25 minutes later, you have a glorious cake to serve to your favorite Swedes. Or before you share, run to the office kitchen and eat (read: wolf down) two pieces just to make sure you don’t feel deprived.

Not that I’d know anything about that. *Ahem*

This was gobbled up by my coworkers, my fiance’s coworkers, and yours truly :)

Thank you Nancy, for choosing this deliciously simply cake. I NEVER would have chosen to make this on my own. So, for that… I thank you! You have blessed me with a wicked easy go-to cake and you didn’t even know I needed one ;)

Head on over to Nancy’s blog, The Dogs Eat the Crumbs (which sounds all too much like MY puppy) for the recipe, some great humor, wonderful pictures and lots of helpful-ness. And JUUUUUUST in case you were in doubt about how awesome this cake is, you can check out the P&Q section (filled with mmmm’s and ahhhh’s) or check out the other TWD bakers.

10-20-08 690 copy

Up next week: Sweet Cream Biscuits on page 23. (Already made, just need to photograph. Man!! I’m on a ROLL! HA! Roll….. get it?)

14 thoughts on “TWD – Swedish Visiting Cake

  1. This cake was indeed awesome and even better because I really didn’t have high expectations for it. I love being surprised by a recipe :) Your cake looks fabulous – glad you liked it!

  2. *cough OVERACHIEVER cough*
    I think that your overzealous joy for this cake has convinced me that I need to bake it again (and again and again). Not that it took much convincing! HA HA! This one is definitely a winner. Can’t wait tosee how your apple one turns out!
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

  3. I am in love with this cake! When you start day dreaming about it at work you know it’s a good one! I am making the apple version tonight, can’t wait!

  4. Reading your post has gotten me all excited about this cake all over again. Your pictures are a-ma-zing, they capture the absolutely perfect texture. Great work, and very good of you to share with all those random co-workers (of course you know how easy it is to whip up another one!) Thanks for baking along with me this week – I’m off to check your other version.

Leave a Reply

