SMS – Gingersnaps

10-20-08 1070 copy

Sometimes I wonder if I’m just a dunce, or if my taste buds aren’t fully matured. I have never had that aha! moment when something tasted SO refined, SO intricate and complex that I feel fancy. I have tried many different cookies and brownies and most of them, have tasted the same to me. I can’t seem to tell much difference when it comes to flavor.

These cookies are a perfect example. They are ‘gingersnaps’ but what makes them so different from gingerbread cookies? Or Dorie’s Molasses cookies? Is it purely the texture? Or is it flavor too?

I can’t tell.

And honestly I really don’t mind. At the moment. It just drives me nuts sometimes :)

Just wondering if taste- bud-ignorance really is bliss?

These cookies are good. Not ‘OMG this is the only cookie I’ll ever eat’ good… but good. They are actually a bit too spicy for me, but I did use black pepper instead of white. Underbake them just a bit for a chewy cookie and bake them a minute or so more for a crispy cookie.

My first thought was to make them into a crust for a lemon cheesecake. And I did. But you’ll have to wait for that one.

I’m cruel, I know. ;)

10-20-08 1058 copy

For the recipe, head on over to Gloria’s aptly titled blog The Ginger Snap Girl.

Up next week: North Fork Peach Raspberry Pie. Peaches. Raspberries. I think the co-workers are going to be quite the happy lot, myself included :)

5 thoughts on “SMS – Gingersnaps

  1. The use of black/white peppers would probably make a difference in the cookie. I used super old white pepper and the cookie had just a hint of the taste.

    Can’t wait to see your cheesecake~ that’s a great idea!

  2. Thanks for making the cookies early in the week and letting us know the proper baking times. I took mine out early for chewy cookies. A lemon cheesecake sounds like a fun thing to make with the crumbs.

  3. Most all desserts with ginger in them are winners in my book! Ginger snap crust with lemon cheesecake sounds dee-lish! Looking forward to seeing the final product. Thanks for baking along this week!

Leave a Reply

