TWD – Espresso Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

10-20-08 541 copy

First things first: do you enjoy/love/savor/crave/obsess/need the flavor of espresso? Great, you’re in the right place.

Now, grab your cup of coffee with your left hand and one of these cookies in your right hand and follow these EXACT instructions:

Step 1: With your pinky up, gently nibble the first corner of the cookie. Chew and swallow. Audibly moan ‘mmmmm.’ Take a sip of coffee to wash the cookie down.

Step 2: Bite off the second corner of the cookie. Che…wallow. ‘MMMMmm nom’ Take a quick swig of coffee.

Step 3: Chomp off the third corner of the cookie. Swallow. At this point you’re much too impatient to chew anyhow. ‘OMG-get-in-my-belly!’ Chug
some coffee and nearly drop the cup trying to get to step four.

Step 4: Dump the rest of the cookie into your mouth along with three more (how did you get those…?) and inhale, careful not to choke. Forget the coffee, grab more cookies.

Sigh, smile, and repeat. The repeat might be mandatory if you still have coffee left ;)

1 2

These were easy-peasy to make and have a wonderful flavor. I must admit to a slight disappointment, which is completely MY fault… for some reason I thought they were sables, so I expected them to have that signature fragile sandy crunch. Instead it was sturdy and not sandy at all. But that’s my own fault for not registering the ‘shortbread cookie’ in the title.

Once I moved past that (with the flavor of these, that didn’t take long) I could truly appreciate these cookies. And promptly inhale one…er  four.

Please inhale four right now, that way I’m not alone in my cookie gluttony ;)

I baked the first batch for 15 mins on a silicone mat and found that this yielded soft cookies. Delicious. Then I baked the second batch for 17 mins directly on the cookie sheet and it yielded a much more firm cookie with ever-so-slightly golden brown edges. Also, delicious!

10-20-08 551 copy

A big thanks goes out to Donna of Life’s Too Short Not to Eat Dessert First for choosing this FAB recipe. Head on over to her blog for the recipe and check out all the other bakers’ awesome cookies!!

Up next week: Peanut Butter Crisscrosses. These are already getting rave reviews!! Time to stock up on peanut butter!!

15 thoughts on “TWD – Espresso Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

  1. Oh, sure, you have yours all stacked neatly and cutely and looking like oh so much fun when all I could think to do was toss them in a pie plate and quickly get a photo before the guys removed them hand over fist eating them like crazy…they loved them! Yours look perfect, as usual!!

  2. Stopping by to comment on your Espresso cookies and I have scrolled through many, many posts and enjoyed each one! Great blog you have here! Everything looks so good! I wish I had a couple of those cookies so I could nibble the four corners before devouring the center. I made just a half batch.

    Thanks for stopping by my place and leaving your comment!
    Kindly, ldh

  3. Your cookies look so delicious! I laughed when I read that you ate four. It’s always good to hear about someone else who can’t stop eating her own cookies!

Leave a Reply

