TWD – Cranberry Upside-Downer

10-20-08 067 copy

Me + flipping HOT desserts upside-down = disaster!

Well, that’s USUALLY the case. There’s just something about scalding hot, bubbly juices falling onto my forearm while my hands slip off the pot-holders and onto the HOT-HOT-HOT baking pan that, well… scars me. Forgive the pun.

Good news is: I actually came out of this one unscathed, and my pan did too! Not one cranberry left behind! Could I maybe have broken the clumsy kitchen curse?!

10-20-08 057 copy

I rather doubt it. But I’m glad that this cake didn’t end up in a crumbly puddle on the floor. I might have cried.

This upside-downer is beautiful, fragrant, tart and absolutely delightful. It showcases cranberries in their true nature: tart and brightly flavored. If you don’t like that slight pucker of cranberries, feel free toΒ substituteΒ them for peaches, pears or even apples. I’m sure there are MANY fruit/cake flavor combinations that would work here. Dark cherries/orange zest, blueberries/lemon zest, pineapple/coconut (for those of you already mourning summer) caramelized apples/cinnamon. The possibilities are endless.

10-20-08 065 copy

The process could not have been any easier. I was done in ten mins flat!! And the result, oh man. Let’s just say it tastes like you’ve been slaving over a hot stove/oven for hours.

I didn’t even tell you the best part!! It’s ready to eat 20 mins after you take it out of the oven!! No waiting for it to come to room temp or chilling it for hours. Nope. Not this time.

Just be careful while flipping this out of the pan. No clumsy kitchen curses!

10-20-08 059 copy

Thank you to Sabrina of Superfluous for choosing this amazing recipe that I have been waiting for FOREVER!! We all enjoyed it! Head on over to her blog today for the recipe (click here). And be sure to check out the other yummy creations by fellow TWD bakers.

Up next week: Coffee Break Muffins. Mmm, sounds good!

25 thoughts on “TWD – Cranberry Upside-Downer

  1. Im liking all of your fruit combo ideas! I think they sound great! I made mine with cherries this time. I will try something different next time!
    Your cake looks so moist and good!

  2. You have mastered upside down cakes! Yeah! It was a fun and easy one to make and delicious too :) So nice stopping by your SWEET place here :)

    Kindly, ldh

  3. This looks fabulous! I’ll have to try the cranberry version. I think you sent your curse over to me. I flipped a warm cake the other day and it slid off the cooling rack. Ugh!

  4. Great flipping job! I always have a moment of panic when I begin to flip an upside cake. A few times, it has been a disaster. Yours looks like a definite success. Will have to get some cranberries when they begin to appear in the grocery store.

  5. Looks like your cranberry version turned out great but I love your idea of pineapple and coconut–maybe throw in a few toasted pecans. Now we’re talking. Now about the mixed fruit cobbler…yum!

  6. Gorgeous, stunning, delicious! The cranberries really jazz up the colour of this cake. Pineapple and coconut would be great too…maybe another excuse to hold onto summer. :D

Leave a Reply

