Day 5: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

10-20-08 008 copy

Sometimes the thing that you need most is uncomplicated, unadultered, and right in front of your face.

Take this cookie recipe for instance: I needed something quick to throw together, something tasty and consistent. Oatmeal cookies! Genius idea. Now to find a dependable recipe. I begin scouring the internet (on my blackberry, mind you) for something to strike my fancy all the while drumming on my giant tub of Quaker oatmeal. I find nothing and scrap the project.

1 2

Then I stare at my oatmeal tub in disbelief and facepalm for being THAT oblivious. There was a tried and true recipe right on the tub! Duh! So oatmeal cookies from Quaker oats it was!

It’s day 5 of my Christmas Extravaganza and I’d like to share this recipe for cookies with you. They are simple, quick (no refrigeration time) and they taste great out of the oven and even better after a day or so! Perfectly chewy and irresistible!

10-20-08 002 copy

Quaker’s Best Oatmeal Cookies
Slightly adapted by me
Yields About 2 dozen, depending on size (I like mine a bit bigger, 2 TBSP scoop)

1 1/4 sticks margarine or butter, softened
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour 1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon (heaping if you love cinnamon)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
3 cups Quaker Oats (quick or old-fashioned, uncooked. NOT instant)
1 cup plump raisins

Preheat oven to 375. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats.

Beat margarine and sugars until creamy. Add egg and vanilla, beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg, mix well. stir in oats; mix well. Fold raisins in until just incorporated

Drop dough by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake 8 to 9 minutes for a chewy cookie or 10 to 11 minutes for a crisp cookie. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

*Feel free to make these a bit more Christmas-y by using dried cranberries instead of raisins and white chocolate chips. Or Omitting the raisins and adding bittersweet chocolate chips, adding nuts… whatever! These cookies are your oyster!

10-20-08 004 copy

Shipping Safe: YES. Wrap tightly or place in a tin for safe travels.

Make Ahead and Freeze: YES. Make the dough and place rounds of raw cookie dough on a baking sheet to flash freeze. Pop in a zip baggie and keep in the freezer. When ready to bake, add an extra minute or two to baking time.

9 thoughts on “Day 5: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. Wow, these look really great…this is one of our favorites around here…yours look better than mine…going to have to carefully follow your recipe and see if I can get mine to look like this!

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe - The Married Me

  3. There is no way you followed this recipe, I made these today and they looked nothing like your pics, they barely stayed together and stayed in the spoonfuls I scooped out and were super crunchy…like a granola bar…..I looked at the recipe on my oatmeal box and it called for 2 eggs not one….very bummed I had to take these to my son at college for his birthday because I did not have time to make anything else!

    • Leigh, I assure you that the recipe I posted is the one that I used personally. I did bake larger cookies than suggested (I used a 2 TBSP scoop instead of 1 TBSP, as I noted before the recipe began) I’m very sorry that these did not turn out for you. Incorrectly measuring your flour could also toughen up these cookies.

  4. I agree with Leigh…. it was a crumbly mess and after the first batch I threw it down the garbage disposal. Too much oatmeal needs either another egg or more butter to hold it together.

  5. I agree with Leigh. Super crumbly and I followed the recipe exactly. I ended up adding some water until I felt the dough would hold together and then I would test bake one. They are super tasty but agree there needs to be a liquid of some sort added.

Leave a Reply

