Day 7: Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies

10-20-08 320 copy

I feel like my brain is scattered and being pulled in 90 different directions. Usually that’s not a bad thing as I tend to be more productive, unlike when I’m empty headed.

BUT I have cookies to share and so many other goodies and I almost forgot to post today completely undoing all of my work!! Yah yah it’s only day 7, you say. But dang, this is hard work people!!

Baking a few days ahead just to be able to have a variety of posts. Creaming butter, getting covered in a powdered sugar snow, and making damn sure my jeans don’t fit. Whew. Time for cookies.

1 2 3

It’s day 7 and I’m not stopping yet! Thanks for joining me. Come on it, take your coat and your shoes off please and have a seat by my imaginary fire.

These cookies are GOOD! Super simple to throw together and with an overnight (or few hours, pick your poison) chill you are ready to roll… your cookie dough, that is. A few notes of my own: if you have a better quality peppermint extract, now is the time to use it. Also, use bittersweet chocolate, will you? If you MUST use something else, be sure to use good quality. I didn’t and I regret it. Do as I say, not as I do.

10-20-08 317 copy

Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies
Adapted slightly from Bakers Royale
Yields 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons spooned and leveled bleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
2 3/4 cups sugar, 1/4 cup of it set aside
1/4 cup canola oil (I used veggie)
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
2 large eggs
1 large egg yolk
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon of peppermint extract
1 cup confectioners sugar

Instructions:
In a medium bowl, beat together well the flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside. Melt the chocolate in the microwave on 50 percent power for 1 minute, stir, and microwave for 15 seconds more and stir; set aside.

In a mixer with the paddle attachment, beat together 2 1/2 cups of the sugar, the oil, butter and corn syrup to blend. Beat in the eggs, egg yolk, vanilla and peppermint extract. Then on low, beat in the melted chocolate. Add the flour mixture and beat in on low speed. Wrap the dough in plastic and refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

Heat oven to 325 degrees F. Line bakesheet with parchment. Take out about one-quarter of the dough at a time to shape. Roll the dough into 2 inch balls. Pour the remaining 1/4 cup granulated sugar into one bowl and the confectioners’ sugar in another bowl. Roll each cookie dough ball lightly in granulated sugar first, then very heavily in confectioners’ sugar. (By rolling in plain sugar first, the confectioners’ sugar does not soak in so much and stays on the surface better).

Arrange cookies 2 inches apart on the foil. For crisp cookies, bake 12 to 14 minutes. For a chewier cookie, bake 10-12 minutes. Bake one sheet at a time.

4 5

Shipping Safe: YES. These are great to pack in a tin or even stack and ship.
Make Ahead and Freeze: YES. Make the cookie dough, chill and shape. DO NOT COAT IN SUGAR. Place on a cookie sheet to flash freeze dough balls then once frozen, place in a zip baggie for future baking.

3 thoughts on “Day 7: Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies

  1. There’s a recipe for chocolate crinkle cookies on Williams-Sonoma’s site that was one of the first things I ever baked. My husband begs for those cookies all the time! With the addition of mint, I bet these are super delicious, and I suspect they’d be an even bigger hit for me since I love the chocolate/mint combo.

Leave a Reply

