Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie

Picture 389 copy

If sitting indian style on my kitchen counter eating a sliver of this goodness while typing out this blog post is wrong, I don’t wanna be right!!

I won’t keep you for long. I am very well aware that you’ve seen the picture and now you want nothing more than for me to NOT run off on a tangent and disrupt you from the recipe… well THAT worked out.

This is essentially a giant chocolate chip cookie baked in a cast iron skillet until golden and irresistible.

I’ve had my eye on this recipe for a while and for some reason or another I’ve been pushing it off. Opportunity knocked when Tracey was available for a Twitter bake-along and she was as indecisive as I usually am. But for some reason I remembered this recipe, she was in and we were off.

1 3
4 5

A quick mix of the cookie dough, another minute to press the dough into the skillet and it is ready to pop into the oven. The best part about this (aside from the fact that it’s delicious) is that you are encouraged to eat it warm out of the oven!! That’s right, no waiting for it to come to room temperature or to chill.

Also encouraged: plop a giant scoop of ice cream on top and drizzle it with caramel sauce! OR decorate it with yummy frosting and give it as a cookie cake for a special someone’s birthday!!

Either way, this is good stuff!!

Picture 362

Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie
From Martha Stewart

Makes one 10″ cookie / 8 servings

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks, 12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups (about 9 oz) chocolate chips (I used bittersweet and semisweet)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars until the mixture is light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla extract, mix until fully incorporated. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture and beat just until combined. Finally, add the chocolate chips and mix to distribute.

Transfer the dough to a 10-inch ovenproof (I used cast-iron) skillet, and gently press to flatten in an even layer on the bottom of the pan. If the dough sticks to your hands try lightly spraying your hand with baking spray and continue.

Bake until the edges of the cookie are brown and the top is golden, about 40-45 minutes. Don’t overbake; it will continue to cook a few minutes out of the oven. Transfer to a wire rack to cool slightly before serving. (My wire rack can’t support my cast iron skillet so I just placed it on pot holders to cool.)

Picture 397 copy

7 thoughts on “Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. Love your photos! This one was good, so good in fact Shane keeps asking me to make it again, which he rarely does with most things. Let’s bake together again soon, k? :)

  2. My husband’s idea of great cookies are the break and bake kind you get in the cold section of the grocery store… Must try to wow him with these!!!

  3. I love the idea of baking it in the skillet. I ran across this concept on 101 Cookbooks. I’ve not baked one of these yet but oh my wouldn’t it be so delicious as you’ve suggested, warm with ice cream and a dozen spoons with friends to dig in. yup, perfect.
    AmyRuth

  4. Pingback: Oh, Labor Day | The Whimsical Cupcake

Leave a Reply

