Hot Chocolate Chip Cookies

DSCN4247 copy

Let’s face it: it’s Summer in Houston. The weather is in the 90’s, the humidity is most likely at 100% (I’ve stopped paying attention to it, it saddens me), I’ve begun breaking out the dresses, and I refuse to straighten my hair for fear of the frizz-ball-fluff-hair-do.

I already miss hot cocoa. With peppermint and 4 huge homemade marshmallows.

But these cookies soothe my longing for the flavor of hot cocoa. At least until the temperature gets so hot that I’ll bathe myself in ice cream, live in my freezer and cry because it’s not November yet. Just being honest here.

DSCN4252 copy

Hot Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

2 sticks Salted Butter, At Room Temperature
1 cup White Granulated Sugar
⅔ cups Packed Light Brown Sugar
2 whole Large Eggs
1 teaspoon Pure Vanilla
3-¼ cups All-purpose Flour
4 packages (1 Oz. Packets, NOT Sugar-free) Hot Chocolate Mix
1 teaspoon Salt
1-¼ teaspoon Baking Soda
1 cup Each White, Milk, And Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (or use whatever mixture you like, I added butterscotch just for fun)

DSCN4253 copy

Preparation Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats, set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, hot chocolate mix, salt and baking soda.

In the bowl of a stand mixer (or a large bowl with a hand mixer) cream butter and sugars until smooth and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time until incorporated well then add vanilla until combined.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients in 3 to 4 parts, making sure all is incorporated. Do not over-mix, mix until the dry ingredients just disappear. Using a rubber spatula, fold in chocolate chips.

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and chill the dough for an hour or so.

Using a 2 Tablespoon cookie scoop (or simply using a regular spoon and eyeballing) scoop the dough onto prepared baking sheets. Bake for 9-11 minutes, rotating baking sheets halfway front-to-back, top-to-bottom until edges are golden brown. Let cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan to a rack to cool.

Note: Adding cup up mini marshmallows would heighten the “hot chocolate” appeal. Cut 1/2 cup of mini marshmallows into quarters and mix in with the chocolate chips and proceed with the recipe.

DSCN4246 copy

8 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Those cookies look fantastic. I have to hand it to you, baking in such high temperatures – I’d hate to turn on my oven! Sometimes you just have to, don’t you?

  2. Ick, 90 already? I can’t imagine. I feel like I’m just barely saying goodbye to winter here and you’re ready for it to arrive again :) Come visit, I promise spring here is mostly nice!

    The cookies sound yummy!

  3. Wow it gets hot there! We have barely made it above 65* and it’s May! This has been the coldest year on record for Pocatello, Idaho!
    I really love the idea of adding hot cocoa mix to cookies, who would have known!! I am going to try these asap!
    Oh ..I love how you wrapped the cookies up with the rustic looking string..so cool looking! Have a good day and stay cool!

  4. Pingback: Oh, Labor Day | The Whimsical Cupcake

Leave a Reply

