Greek Yogurt Chocolate Cake Cookies – TWD

Picture 047 copy

Have you tried greek yogurt yet?

It’s quite a phenomenon. I’ll let you in on a little secret: I couldn’t STAND it the first few times I tried it. I felt like I must be missing something. I begged for someone to LET ME IN ON THE SECRET!! It was sour and not sweet at ALL. So naturally I was turned off immediately. I tried it a few more times convinced that there was something about this yogurt that I wasn’t appreciating.

But I got creative this time: adding granola, dark chocolate chips, fresh cut strawberries (or any other berries) maple syrup, even raw honey. And that was it. That was my answer. My gateway drug, if you will. Honey. It really was as simple as finding that ONE thing that blew my taste buds away. And now I can’t get enough of the stuff.

I top my salads with it, put a dollop in my tacos, even bake it into things now. Like these cookies.

Picture 058 copy

They were supposed to be made with sour cream rather than greek yogurt but I didn’t have any on hand so I made a last minute substitution. I also doubled the cinnamon in these cookies. But you already knew that didn’t you?

They are cakey (hence being called CAKE cookies) so don’t expect a chewy cookie with a crisp outside. I am not really a fan of ‘cakey’ anything unless it’s, well… cake. So I wasn’t too excited about these but they weren’t a total loss. You could easily use these as ice cream sandwich cookies or even as whoopie pies, just smear whatever you want on one side and sandwich them together and enjoy!

Picture 053 copy

Thanks to Spike of Spike Bakes for choosing this and hosting. Click here for the recipe.

9 thoughts on “Greek Yogurt Chocolate Cake Cookies – TWD

  1. I’m not a big yogurt person in general, so probably not a huge surprise that I don’t love Greek yogurt either :) I buy it occasionally to have on hand for baking or recipes, but never eat it plain or with fruit/granola. I tried to convince myself it was delicious for a while, but failed!

    I made these into whoopie pies and we loved them. As plain cookies they probably would never have been eaten…

  2. I LOVE greek yogurt and love that you used it to make these cookies. Even though they weren’t your favorite, they still look like they turned out great.

  3. Those are the best looking cookies. Wish mine had turned out as well. Will have to try these with the yogurt because the sour cream just didn’t do it for me.

  4. Di says:

    Neat idea to use the yogurt in these. I sandwiched some of mine with ice cream, and used choc-hazelnut spread for some of the others. Both were quite tasty. =)

  5. I love Greek yogurt and regular yogurt, and baking with yogurt! I didn’t make these, but I think they’d need some kind of filling to get me really excited about them. Or maybe just crumbled on top of ice cream!

  6. I’m totally addicted to Greek yogurt but that probably comes as no surprise to you. When I originally saw this recipe, I thought Greek yogurt. Glad to hear my suspicions were correct.

Leave a Reply

