SMS – Peach Muffins

*note: this blog was written, edited, and ready to go on Friday MORNING!! I set it up for auto post for Sunday morning. I guess wordpress didn’t deem my post important enough to follow through on the directions given. This frustrates me. I don’t procrastinate and it still appears as though I did.*

peach muffins

When it came to muffins, I never made them from scratch. They were always one of those baked goods that I made from a premade baggie. You know the ones: dried fruit bits in a flour-like substance that you add milk and oil to which yields quite possibly THE lumpiest dough in the world and bake up to be pathetic, tiny doorstops. Yah, you know the ones.

This was my first foray into the world of scratch muffin making. Although I can’t say that this has been the best muffin I’ve ever tasted, They were tasty and I did enjoy making them (even though I made a big whoops!)

I decided that since this was a first for me that I would just follow the recipe rather than try to be creative, there’s always next time!

*stirring brown sugar/butter mixture*     “this is going exeedingly well”

*tossing peached with flour mixture*        “doing great!”

*dumps flour mixture into brown sugar mixture*     “this is kinda thick…”

*gently folds. and folds. and folds.*     “whyyyy is this so difficult?”

*spots cream and milk on the opposite counter*  “$h!t, $h!t, $h!t”

*frantically pours liquids into already uniform mixture*

My kitchen smelled lovely and I awaited the outcome anxiously. I set the timer to 25 minutes wanting to check on them a bit sooner. Next time I’ll take off about three minutes as they were a tiny bit on the dry side. Learning, learning.

peach muffins

Thankfully, these muffins appeared to be the slightest bit forgiving to a cotton-headed ninny-muggins like me. THEY ACTUALLY LOOKED LIKE MUFFINS! Eureka!!! The texture was a bit off to me, but I take full blame for that (see above self conversation for a few points of clarification) The taste however was strongly reminiscent of cinnamon. I was disappointed that the peach flavor was slim to none. I’ll add more peaches, less milk and cinnamon and up the lemon zest a bit next time.

Oh and I won’t forget to mix in the milk and cream next time either. 😉

peach muffins of the 70's

For the recipe, head on over to JoVann’s blog The Givens Chronicles. She’s a southern girl like me!

For more pictures of these muffins, click here.

8 thoughts on “SMS – Peach Muffins

  1. hotovenwarmheart says:

    Hello my dear!

    I think your muffins look absolutely lovely- what are you talking about funny peaks? They look great to me (and just so you know, that’s exactly how mine came out too!) I’m sorry your first foray into from scratch muffin baking wasn’t a smashing success… but don’t despair- there are plenty more recipes out there to try! I know you’re probably banana’d out at the moment, but next time you have a few overripe ones on your counter, let me know, and I’ll send you a *fantastic* recipe for banana crumb muffins. Mmmmm… they’re super yummy. I also have a good one for cappuccino chocolate chip muffins that I’d be happy to share. I’m sure your next batch of homemade muffins will be a hit- and won’t end up in the back of the fridge 😦

    Hope you’re doing well and having a great start to your week. Looking forward to talking again soon!

    <3,
    Joy

  2. I agree with Joy, your muffins are lovely! Congratulations on making your first muffins from scratch, I hope this will be the first of many batches. Mine were a bit dry, too, and the batter was thick and gloppy. I’ve heard the same thing from other bakers, so I don’t think it was all you…

  3. I think your muffins look great. They don’t even look all that dense either. I hope the next muffin recipe you make will work to your satisfaction 🙂

  4. They look great, yay for a successful first batch of muffins! I really think this was the thickest muffin batter ever. I also want to inform you that you won my giveaway (a copy of Baked), so please email (monstercuisine.margot@gmail.com) me your address so I can send you the book! And seriously, I have had very few successful experiences with autoposting on blogger – super frustrating.

  5. Wow, your first time making muffins from scratch was wildly successful I’d say! They look perfect! My muffins turned out a bit dense and I completely agree with you on the lack of peach flavor.

Leave a Reply

