Chocolate Zucchini Cake

1

Let me start off this post by saying “thank you Tracey!” If it weren’t for that delectable picture of that slice of cake and ice cream, I never (and I repeat NEVER) would have made this cake. Oh I’m ALL FOR chocolate… but zucchini…. in a cake?! “What the…..

And I would have continued to wander the world with a sad soul full of regret. This cake is AWESOME!!

I originally made it for my future mother-in-law’s birthday, and I figured if its got zucchini in it, its a bit healthier than a normal chocolate cake, no? Don’t argue with my logic, just nod and smile.

It’s what gets my fiance through 🙂

Back to the cake: it’s moist, oh BOY is it moist! It’s chocolatey with a perfect crumb. It was easy to put together. It even uses stuff that you probably already have in your pantry right now. It can be adjusted to make anything from cupcakes to bundt cakes.

Have I sold you yet? Or do I need to go shout it from the mountain tops? 😉

2

Chocolate Zucchini Cake
Adapted from King Arthur Flour (as seen on Tracey’s Culinary Adventures)

1/2 cup (1 stick, 4 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) vegetable oil
1 3/4 cups (12 1/4 ounces) granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1/2 cup (4 ounces) sour cream or yogurt (I used sour cream)
2 1/2 cups (10 1/2 ounces) all-purpose flour
3/4 cup (2 1/4 ounce) Dutch-process cocoa
2 teaspoons espresso powder (optional, I omitted)
2 cups shredded zucchini (about one 10″ zucchini, about 12 ounces)
1/2 cup (3 ounces) chocolate chips

Raspberry Glaze
3/4 cup raspberry preserves (can be substituted for any flavor you like)
2 tablespoons water

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 325 F. Lighlty grease a 9″ x 13″ pan. (I made this in a bundt pan and used Pam for baking)

In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter, oil, sugar, vanilla, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Beat in the eggs.

Stir in the sour cream or yogurt alternately with the flour. Then add the cocoa and espresso powder, mixing until smooth. Finally, fold in the zucchini and 1/2 cup chocolate chips.

Spoon the batter into the prepared pan (it will be thick). Bake the cake for 30 to 35 minutes or until the top springs back lightly when touched, and it seems set (took roughly 40 minutes in my bundt pan). Slide the cake out of the oven and cool on a rack.

While your cake is cooling, put the raspberry preserves and water in a small pot over medium-high heat and whisk until it begins to bubble. Turn down a bit and whisk for 3 minutes. Strain the glaze (unless you don’t mind the seeds, in which case you can skip this step) and pour liberally over your cake.

You can dust with powdered sugar, frost with chocolate buttercream, glaze with chocolate ganache, top with a scoop of your favorite vanilla ice cream, or leave it completely plain. The possibilities really are endless.

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Cake

  1. Karin says:

    I loved this cake too! Though after I made it, the people at my work ate the things I brought in with a little skepticism. They were afraid I was sneaking more veggies in on them. Glad you liked it too!

  2. I have never tried anything like this. You made it look soooo delish though. Hmmm, I’m thinking maybe I should do this for Thanksgiving. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Your cake looks delicious! I love zucchini and chocolate. I also bake a zucchini and apple cake (bread) that my daughter loves, though I am partial to the chocolate one myself.

  4. I happen to have 2 cups of shredded zucchini in my freezer right now! I think it’s a sign. Plus I don’t like chocolate cake, so this would be the perfect dessert to make for my family without it tempting me. they would love it

  5. I’m so glad you liked it Jeannette! Great idea to make it in a bundt pan. I’m going to try that next time but first I have to wait for my husband to forget about the zucchini in it so I can sneak it by him 🙂

Leave a Reply

