SMS – Butter Toffee… Er…. Crunch

1257434304

A very wise woman once said to me “You really get like 30 seconds between undercooked and burned with candy.” Which made me question WHYYY I had to be just two seconds early to the party?

Party, being crunchy toffee. As I’m sure you’ve already gathered.

That’s right, another oopsy in my kitchen. That’s what I get for casting a magic spell on my meat thermometer and trying to turn it into a candy thermometer. WHICH, in my defense, I’m sure would have worked out just fine….. IF the temperature didn’t stop at 190 degrees. *thud* Way to do my homework.

BUT, I WILL be making this again. Without a doubt. Why? Well, regardless of the aforementioned and lask-luster crunch (it was somewhat soft to the bite) the flavor was PHENOMENAL!!

1258035713

The fiance even liked it. Is this thing on? *taps microphone* THE FIANCE LIKED IT!! This….. is huge people. One for the books.

I halved the recipe and it yielded about 3/4 of a standard cookie sheet and changed nothing else. It was my first time, I wanted to play it safe.

My favorite part of making this was chopping away at my 10 lb bar of Guittard chocolate and the amazement that followed due to the chocolate slivers melting as SOON as they touched my hands. I really should get a picture of this next time.

“I’m the chocolate monster. Arraarrrr grrrr…” *wiggles fingers childishly*

Ok. I’m done. Scout’s honor.

1258034236

You want this recipe. Trust me. Visit Kaitlin at Kait’s Plate.

16 thoughts on “SMS – Butter Toffee… Er…. Crunch

  1. This looks phenomenal! Toffee is so tricky. After my really sticky and burnt batch, I’ve stayed away from making it. Isn’t it always more fun to use the good chocolate?

  2. Haha you crack me up every week with your posts 🙂 I’m glad your toffee was delicious even if the texture wasn’t quite what you were hoping for. I’m not a toffee fan but I enjoyed the process of making it and my taste tester gave it two thumbs up!

  3. Your toffee looks fabulous, even if it wasn’t crunchy. Love it stacked up in the pictures! My hubby didn’t care for this, but in his defense, he is a cake and cookie man.

  4. This was such a hard recipe, I made it three times and it still wasn’t perfect! Yours looks great and I’m glad you enjoyed it. I definitely want to try this one again (or actually, probably a different toffee recipe).

  5. hotovenwarmheart says:

    JEANNETTE!!!!!

    How are you my dear? Okay, it has been FAR too long- I’ve missed talking to you so much! I apologize profusely for neglecting my online communication and not visiting in a while… things have been BANANAS around here lately but shame on me for not making time to check up on a friend! What have you been up to? Lots of baking I see! And candy making too!

    I’m sorry your toffee didn’t turn out exactly as expected, (I think it looks just perfect, by the way!) but if it makes you feel any better, you are NOT alone. My first batch was an absolute disaster- a FIASCO I tell you!- and I ended up with 3 lbs of chocolate/almond covered crystallized sugar. I didn’t want to end my candy making experience on a bad note, so I did some research, found another recipe, and gave it a go. Thankfully it came out fabulous! If you have a chance, check out my post (which includes the other recipe) along with a whole list of tips and tricks that will help ensure success. Let me know if you decide to give it another shot!

    So are you thinking about what you’re gonna make for Turkey Day yet? I’m sure you’re gonna blow your family away with your mad culinary skills 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you whip up!

    Well Jeannette, I hope you’re doing well, and I’d love to catch up if possible! Have a wonderful rest of your day and I’m looking forward to hearing from you soon!

    <3,
    Joy

  6. hotovenwarmheart says:

    Hahaha! I just went to my site and found your comment. Thanks so much for the message- it was a lovely way to start my day 🙂 Feel free to email too if you have a moment… that way we can talk at greater length! Talk soon dearie!

    <3,
    Joy

  7. hotovenwarmheart says:

    Okay- last one- I promise! Just noticed the books on your sidebar with that neato (my goodness, did I just say neato? Oy vey) “search inside” feature, and I was wondering if you could teach me how to do that. I’d love to add that feature to my site if possible!

    Sorry I keep pestering you with comments… maybe I’m trying to make up for lost time 😉

Leave a Reply

