SMS – Black Bottom Brownies

IMG01266-20100122-0801 copy

Cheesecake? Brownies?

To most people, that is pretty much THE match made in heaven. Me, not so much. Don’t get me wrong, the combination can be life altering but I just don’t think I’ve found THE recipe yet.

I don’t know if it was user error (read: my fault) or what but my cheesecake portion was ruuuuuunny (prior to baking) and it yielded quite a soft cheesecake layer, so soft that it didn’t hold up the chocolate chips scattered on top (they instead, sunk down on top of the brownie layer). The brownie portion had this odd spongey texture. Again, could be totally my fault, but something was just too off and I can’t quite put my finger on it. BUT that didn’t stop my co-workers from nom-ing on them all day long.

1 2

I reduced the sugar in the brownies (2 cups, really?) to 1-1/2 cups since I used semi-sweet chocolate instead. I ALMOST reduced the amount of eggs in the cheesecake (6 eggs, REALLY?!) but decided not to mess with it. Baked for an hour (my oven is hotter than it reads) but the rest I followed to a ‘T’

I guess I’ll just keep searching for that recipe that blows my socks off. Feel free to leave me links or recipes for your tried and true cheesecake brownies.

Hopefully the other SMS bakers had better experiences with this than I did. Head on over to Cynthia’s blog, Bakingtherapist for the recipe.

9 thoughts on “SMS – Black Bottom Brownies

  1. Too bad you didn’t like these. After publishing my post for this week’s recipe and posting all the changes I made, I realized it’s quite a list, which includes reducing the eggs in the cheesecake, adding raspberries and adding 1 Tbsp of flour to the cheesecake batter. The choc chips floated on top perfectly. I baked half a recipe. Check out my blog and give that a shot sometime.

  2. I haven’t tried mine and I probably won’t end up trying them because I’m on a diet. I know, dieting and baking doesn’t mix, but I’ve got fatty friends so they eat it all haha. Yours look pretty!

  3. Well, those are some gorgeous layers Jeannette! I’m sorry these didn’t excite you – to be honest, I thought they were tasty, but not among my favorites. My cheesecake batter seemed super runny too, but it seemed to set up ok so who knows.

    I made black and white cheesecake bars a few months ago that were really delicious! I linked them in my post this week. The base is more cookie than brownie, but still chocolate and cheesecake together.

  4. Well, they look lovely AND people liked them, so mission accomplished! I made a brownie recipe a few weeks ago that I’ve made a dozen times and usually love, and they were very spongy. Such a bummer!

  5. Your brownies look absolutely perfect, sorry they didn’t quite do it for you – at least the co-workers enjoyed them. You could reallly taste the sugar, it was a lot.

Leave a Reply

