TWD – Coconut Tea Cake

10-20-08 545 copy

I’ll go ahead and keep this short in hopes that I’ll save some time and get some other posts typed up because I have some pretty yummy stuff waiting in the wings πŸ™‚

This cake isn’t exactly my cup of tea, mainly because the texture throws me off. It might be my fault and I could have over-baked it (although I baked mine ten mins less than the lesser time) and it seemed to teeter between moist and dry.

1 2

The coconut flavor wasn’t as prominent as I thought it was supposed to be and the rum was a wasted liquid. Maybe my rum just sucks? But I didn’t taste it. At. All. Don’t get me wrong, this is a tasty cake. My co-workers seemed to like it and I sent 95% of this cake to work with the fiance and he said that “it went very fast and was liked very much.”

All in all it came together quickly and baked up pretty. Dust with a bit of confectioners sugar, serve alongside a cup of your favorite tea and you’re in business.

10-20-08 532 copy

Thanks to Carmen of Carmen Cooks for choosing this recipe and getting some of my coconut out of the freezer πŸ™‚ Her blog is set to private, but you can find the recipe here!

10-20-08 542 copy

Up next week: Mocha-Walnut Marbled Bundt Cake

11 thoughts on “TWD – Coconut Tea Cake

  1. It does stink when you bake something that you end up not loving, doesn’t it? It looks great though and it sounds like you made some other eaters happy. Nice job!

  2. Your cake looks so delicious! Sorry you didn’t love this recipe. At least it was still enjoyed though, and why wouldn’t it judging by your pictures? πŸ˜‰

  3. Ditto on the subtle coconut flavor and not tasting the rum. I didn’t love the texture of this one the first day, but I found it got better on day 2, in case you want to try it again someday πŸ™‚ It looks great!

  4. I’m giving this a try this weekend for eater. I love the look of the powdered sugar. Hoping a like it…cause I totally agree that it stinks when you bake something and feel lukewarm!

    Love your blog!

  5. Sorry it wasn’t a hit – I didn’t need all that time in the oven with mine – maybe that’s the problem with the recipe. I thought it was quite good – but you never know with coconut. Most of all – it LOOKS spectacular!

Leave a Reply

