TWD – Dressy Chocolate Loafcake

10-20-08 1014 copy

This is going to be a quick one, as I am writing this from my blackberry πŸ™‚

*Update: Alright, now that I have some semi-quality photos and a sample of this loafcake in tow, I can accurately tell you just how awesome this loafcake is.

HOLY BAZOOKA BUBBLE GUM! THIS. IS. AWESOME!

10-20-08 1030 copy

It’s everything that you’d want in a dressy chocolate cake: soft, pillow-y, chocolate-y layers filled carelessly with copious amounts (I seem to have doubled it. Completely on purpose) of delicious raspberry marmalade and sealed with quite possibly the oddest, easiest and most tasty ‘frosting’ that I have ever had the pleasure of making. And we all know how much of a frosting nazi I am.

I’ll be making this frosting again. Oh yah. You know I mean business.

Dress this loaf cake up, dress it down, heck UNDRESS it for all I care… just go make it. Now. Like… NOW now.

You can thank me later. (You’re welcome.)

10-20-08 1011 copy

A giant thanks to Amy of Amy Ruth Bakes for choosing this out of sight recipe! You can find the recipe here along with pictures that put mine to shame. And check out the other bakers who did a much better job at dressing this cake up than I did. πŸ™‚

Up next week: Rum Drenched Vanilla Cakes. I am FAR too excited about these to express in textual formats. FAR too excited.

PS. I bought REAL Madagascar vanilla beans for these. I’m both frightened and EEEEEK!

6 thoughts on “TWD – Dressy Chocolate Loafcake

  1. Wow! I am impressed that you are able to write a post from your blackberry! either I am completely out of touch from the 21st century, or you are seriously that amazing! It could also just be that I am old. In any case, your cake looks gorgeous and it no doubt tastes as good as it looks!

  2. teaandscones says:

    “Holy Chocolate Cake BatWhimsey!” This was a really goood cake. Love the almond addition. Looks so elegant.

  3. Wow, amazing photos!! REALLY Amazing….
    Plus, I never thought to put beautiful nuts atop the dressed “up” cake. On your BB really? I can’t even figure how to access from my iphone? duh you are way smarter than me. hmmm I’ll have to ask Corbin. Perfecto, thank you not only for your kind words but also for your enthusiasm and baking along this week!
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

