Panko Mozzarella Sticks

10-20-08 382 copy

I know what you’re thinking…. a SAVORY post?? Is hell freezing over? Is the world ending? Has Jeannette lost her mind?!

Well, the answer is no. No. And maybe…

1 2

But in all honesty, I feel like it is my privilege… no my DUTY to share this recipe with you. I mean, who doesn’t like cheese sticks? Warm, melty, gooey, crunchy cheese sticks?

If you don’t… keep it to yourself. I can’t be seen associating with cheese-stick haters. You understand.

3 4

It requires some prep but once you have your assembly line all set and ready to go, you’ll knock these out in no time!!

I promise they are worth your while!! And best of all… you know exactly what’s in them. No old cheese or mystery crumb coating. Yum-o!

10-20-08 387 copy

Ingredients:

16 pieces String Cheese, Removed From Wrappers (I used 24 successfully)
½ cups All-purpose Flour
2 whole Eggs
3 Tablespoons Milk
2 cups Panko Bread Crumbs
1 Tablespoon Dried Parsley Flakes
Canola Oil, For Frying (I used veggie oil)
Marinara Sauce, For Dipping (or buttermilk ranch)

Preparation Instructions:

•Slice string cheese pieces in half, for a total of 32 (or 48 in my case) pieces.
•Place flour in a small bowl*.
•In a separate bowl*, whisk eggs and milk.
•In another separate bowl*, combine panko bread crumbs with parsley flakes.

*I used medium sized tupperware for these. It kept everything from spilling over the sides of the bowl.

TO ASSEMBLE: One by one, roll mozzarella sticks in flour, then dunk in egg/milk mixture, then place in panko crumbs. Use your hand to sweep crumbs all over the mozzarella stick. Gently remove and place on a tray or cookie sheet. Repeat until all mozzarella sticks are coated.

***Place tray in freezer for 20 to 30 minutes to flash freeze. Very important!! It helps to keep the coating from falling off and keeps the cheese from oozing out before the coating is done.***

TO COOK: Heat 1 1/2 inches oil in a large skillet over medium heat. When hot, add mozzarella sticks 8 at a time. Watch closely and turn over to evenly brown, cooking less than 2 minutes. Do not allow cheese to bubble and leak.
Remove to a paper towel-lined plate.
Serve immediately with warm marinara sauce. Or buttermilk ranch if that’s your preference.

Enjoy!!

10-20-08 336 copy

4 thoughts on “Panko Mozzarella Sticks

  1. *dies* I must make these. They look sooo good. Hmm… I’m planning on making egg rolls, so I’ll already have the oil ready to go… looks like I need to pick up some cheese. 😉

Leave a Reply

