TWD – Tarte Fine

10-20-08 195 copy

I have an obnoxious habit of adopting accents.

I can’t watch a British film without walking around all day using words like ‘rubbish’ and ‘wonky’ and ‘wanker.’ But, I’m half British so I’m allowed.

I can’t read a book set in Sweden without concocting some half-breed accent of German/Jibberish.

I can’t make pizza or spaghetti or any pasta dish for that matter without a horrid Italian accent in my head, narrating everything I’m doing.

And I certainly can’t make French pastries without imitating (read: butchering) a French accent and pretending to be fancier than I really am.

Although, I’m pretty fancy. I do say ‘v-AH-se’ afterall.  😉

1 2
3 4

I knew I would love this tarte as soon as I read the title and proceeded to skim the ingredients: apples, puff pastry. Love. It reminded me of the Tarte Tatin that I absolutely loved, and I knew right then I HAD to make it. Not that the fancy French woman living in my head didn’t already know that.

This seriously comes together in a snap. Thaw your puff pastry dough and roll it our ever so slightly, peel, core and slice your apples, artfully arrange them on your puff pastry, brush the dough with milk and the apples with eggwash, sprinkle on some sugar (and cinnamon if you just CAN’T resist, ahem) and bake it. As simple as  it gets.

And oh my, serve this warm out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream to your guests at your fancy dinner party and you’ll stand there looking like Dorie herself 😉

À bientôt !!

10-20-08 183 copy

A big thank you goes out to the wonderful Leslie of Lethally Delicious for choosing this awesome recipe. Head on over to her blog for the recipe and leaf through her wonderful blog for other goodies. I promise you’ll find some!

Up next week: Double Apple Bundt Cake. Yay apples!!

21 thoughts on “TWD – Tarte Fine

  1. It looks fabulous! I forgot to leave a border, so I didn’t get that wonderful puff on the edges, but it was delicious all the same. Do you think in accents too? I do that sometimes depending on what I’m reading.
    🙂

  2. With a tart that looks this good, you’ll absolutely pass for French! I’m glad you enjoyed it and yes, cinnamon belongs with apples, so I’ll borrow that idea next time. I’m glad you enjoyed this one, and thanks for baking with me this week!

  3. That last picture is the best! I love how your pastry puffed up..mine was not puffy at all..but it sure tasted good! My 12 year old son adopts accents too! He found some candy spray at the store that you spray in your mouth and instantly you will have a Irish accent..he was so cute and was talking Irish all day!!

  4. Very artfully arranged – you made a gorgeous tarte. I ran around the day I made my tarte saying to my toddler, “Allons-y. It’s time to make our tarte fine!” Gotta use that high school French somewhere…

  5. Ha! I do accents in my head also! Actually, if I am going to be honest I do them out loud also, most likely after anybody else listening to me finds it funny… Beautiful tart!

  6. That’s too funny about you talking in accents. I do that with kid cartoons and children’s books. I talk in rhyme after reading books, etc. Is that the same thing? 😉
    Perfect tart.

Leave a Reply

