FFwD: Hachis Parmentier

10-20-08 220 copy

I’m SO glad that my few years of French in middle/high school finally paid off!! I was actually able to read this title without help. Jeannette – 1 French – 0.

I’ve been wanting to finally get in the kitchen and cook some more involved things outside of the norm. I don’t think the fiancé is looking forward to it, but I am!! Oh boy, am I?!

I did double duty (triple if you count the pumpkin pie that I made at the same time) and made the Hachis and the Gougeres for dinner last night.

10-20-08 236 copy

Don’t let these names fool you. If you’ve been to any Brazilian grill you are likely to have had their cheese bread. Gougeres is just the fancy French version. Although, I managed to Americanize it with cheddar cheese. Sorry Dorie, please don’t disown me.

And Hachis is just the fancy French version of Shepard’s Pie. Yummy, fragrant meat topped with mashed potatoes and a light sprinkle of cheese, baked.

10-20-08 224 copy

The Hachis takes some time to prepare so if you plan on making this, be prepared to make this 2 hours in advance. The meat needs 1-1/2 hours to simmer and then an extra half hour in the oven. But don’t let that deter you from trying this. There isn’t much hands on time and the end result is worth it!

You can even plead insanity (like ME!) and make gougeres and pumpkin pie as the meat is simmering!! Just don’t mix up which cream concoction goes with what!

10-20-08 240 copy

Changes I made (aka what I had on hand): I used ground beef, omitted celery, bay leaf, sausage and used regular pepper instead of peppercorns. I left in the veggies. I only had one large potato (not enough but I made do) and accidentally used too much milk. Sprinkled with mozzarella. It was still delicious!

Fiance: didn’t SAY it was bad, but he didn’t clean his plate. VERY out of the ordinary. So I’ll say thumbs down on his behalf.

Cupcake: thumbs up. I would definitely make it again. When I’m making dinner for just me 🙂

For the recipes, you’ll have to get Dorie’s new book Around My French Table. It’s well worth it!

1 2

Ps. It’s pronounced ah-chis   par-mee-en-tey.

Up next week: Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake

6 thoughts on “FFwD: Hachis Parmentier

  1. Your hachis and your gougeres both look delicious! I have yet to make the hachis, but it’s on the list for the near future. To answer a question you asked on my bread blog about a month ago (sorry!), you put instant yeast in with the dry ingredients in a bread recipe. Use about 3/4 the amount of active dry yeast. That’s it; you don’t need to activate it or anything else. Happy bread baking!

  2. You sure know how to make a yummy dinner! Personally, I wasn’t feeling the hachis parmetier so I skipped it, but the gougeres were delicious, weren’t they?

Leave a Reply

