Day 10: My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies – FINALLY!

10-20-08 035 copy

It’s day 10 of my Christmas baking extravaganza!! Boy, do I have a great one for you today!!

Chocolate chip cookies are by far one of my favorites! I’m sure they rest on most people’s top 10 but they are definitely top 3 over here! The only problem is, I’m SO picky about what I want out of my cookie. It must be chewy with crisp edges, NOT CAKEY. It must be thick-ish, NOT THIN. It must contain way too many chocolate chips and be aesthetically pleasing. That’s Β not asking for too much is it?

10-20-08 0421 copy

Cookies are a blessing and a curse. Don’t get me wrong, I love them: the ease of making them, the simplicity of ingredients and almost always turning out something edible without much effort. But, and there’s always a but… I hatehatehate the chilling time.

1 2 3

Unfortunately, these are no exception. I hate the chilling time of these but it makes them SO much easier to shape. BUT that chilling time sounds much less daunting when I am guaranteed the cookie of my dreams once it comes out of the oven.

These keep for a solid week if you wrap em up tightly. And it doesn’t hurt to nuke em in the microwave for 10-15 seconds to soften them up and melt the chocolate chips πŸ˜‰

Shipping safe: YES (stack and wrap in saran-wrap and place in a tube-shaped cookie holder to ship safely)
Make and freeze: YES (shape the balls and flash freeze. Then pop them into a zip baggie until you’re ready to bake!)

10-20-08 054 copy

My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted slightly from Une Gamine dans la Cuisine

Ingredients
1 cup (two sticks) unsalted butter, at room temp.
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
3 cups Bread flour (13 1/2 oz)
3/4 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon baking Soda
1 1/3 cups bittersweet and semi-sweet chocolate chips

Method
In a large bowl, beat butter and both sugars just until they come together. Be careful not to overbeat. Add the eggs and vanilla extract, beat just until incorporated. In a seperate medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flour, salt and baking soda. When thoroughly mixed, add to batter and stir just until blended. Stir in chocolate chips. The dough should be neither sticky nor dry. Cover the bowl and refrigerate the dough for at least 8 hours – overnight.

Divide dough into about *12 mounds, but keep the mounds ‘rugged’, don’t over-work the dough. If the mounds become too soft from the heat of your hands, place them in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Place the cookies on an ungreased insulated cookie sheet or an upside down rimmed cookie sheet. Bake for **15-20 minutes (check after 13 minutes.) The won’t look like they are done but if you leave them on the sheet for at least 10 minutes, they will be perfect. These are great as soon as they are cool enough to eat, but they are spectacular the next day! If you can wait that long.

* You can easily get 24 cookies out of one batch, just divide each mound in half for dunkable cookies.

** Remember to adjust the baking time for smaller cookies. Start checking at 10 mins.

11 thoughts on “Day 10: My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies – FINALLY!

  1. These cookies look delicious! Who doesn’t love a good chocolate chip cookie? I loved seeing you dip your cookie in milk (my favorite way to enjoy them!) I’m super excited to try your recipe. I have never made mine with bread flour before. Thank you so much for sharing with me today. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

  2. I’m really picky about chocolate chip cookies too. Most of my requirements are the same as yours, except I want just a few chips in each cookies. Too many ruins it for me!

    • Sally, thoroughly chilling the dough will help yield in a thicker cookie. Also, it lets the ingredients meld together and yields a better, yummier flavor!

  3. jennifer says:

    Besides the fact of yeilding the ingredients together of the purpose if refrigerating the dough. Would a person need to for the whole 8 hours? Thankx

Leave a Reply

