Sorting Hat Pita Bread for Harry Potter

Picture 178 copy

Ever wish you could just wave a magic wand and dinner prepares itself on the stove, cookies come perfectly out of the oven every time, the floor mops itself? Me too. More times than I care to mention. You see, I’m a bit obsessed with Harry Potter at the moment, which I may have mentioned.

But if I had my own wand, I would only use my powers for good, not evil. The sorting hat should have no problem putting me in the Gryffindor house.

But just in case it does find some difficulty, I made my own. Out of bread. It does what I tell it to do (or what I mumble in my worst ventriloquist act ever). And when it misbehaves, I’ll just eat it.

You see, my sorting hat it made out of pita bread. Amazing.

Serve this bread at your Harry Potter party along with your favorite spinach dip or even grape jelly (and pretend it’s polyjuice potion, of course) and don’t forget these magical words “Please not Slytherin.”

For a fantastic tutorial with pictures click here.

Picture 176 copy

Sorting Hat Pita Bread
Adapted from here

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon active dry yeast
1 teaspoon sugar
2 1/2 cups warm water (80-90°F)
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 Tablespoon salt
1 Tablespoon olive oil
2-3 cups flour

To make the bread dough:

In a large bowl, add the sugar and warm water. Stir in the yeast and let the mixture proof for 10 minutes.

Once the yeast is bubbly, mix in the whole wheat flour, one cup at a time, until the mixture is silky smooth. This is your sponge; it is not your completed dough. Set aside the mixture for 30 minutes to 8 hours (the longer this sponge is left alone, the better the flavor. I let mine go for 12 hours).

Once time is up, stir in the salt and olive oil. Then mix in the flour. Knead the dough for 8-10 minutes by hand or 6-8 minutes in a stand mixer with a dough hook, then cover the bowl with plastic wrap or a damp towel and let rise in a draft-free place for 2-3 hours, until doubled.

Preheat your oven to 350°F.

To shape and bake your bread:

Form a large cone out of foil (grab sheets and start crinkling it into a cone shape, adding more as necessary), about 8 inches tall and 6 inches in diameter. Gently deflate your dough and take 2/3 of it; keeping the remaining third covered, set aside. (I didn’t end up using the remaining 1/3 so I wrapped it tightly and put it in the freezer to use as pizza dough.)

Spread out the dough in a large circle, like you would a pizza crust, so that it’s big enough to cover the cone. Spray the foil cone with nonstick spray and then gently cover it with your dough. Pinch deep grooves for the eyes, mouth, and random wrinkles (I had a difficult time with this step as my grooves kept drooping but I kept re-pinching it and eventually it stayed long enough for me to get it into the oven). Place the dough covered cone on a baking sheet,on its side, face side up.

Take the remaining third of dough and form a large circle, about 10 inches in diameter. Place it in a parchment lined nonstick 9×9 inch baking pan, keeping the center of the circle flat and wrinkling the edges to fit in the pan. Bake both pans for 20 minutes. Take both trays out of the oven.

Raise the temperature of the oven to 425°F. Now either spray the bread with the face with nonstick spray or brush it with melted butter. Stand the dough up so that it’s no longer on its side. Lower your oven racks so the bread fits and place both trays of bread back in the oven. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until browned. Let cool a bit on a cooling rack. Finally, place the bread covered foil cone on top of the hat bottom when ready to serve.

Picture 177 copy

Isn’t he cute?? I just wanna eat him all up…

4 thoughts on “Sorting Hat Pita Bread for Harry Potter

Leave a Reply

