My First Foodie Pen Pal

…and I’m posting two days late. That’s me, pretty much always late. BUT, better late than never everyone I always say.

The Lean Green Bean

For those of you who don’t know what the heck a foodie pen pal is, it’s only the greatest thing since indoor plumbing. Basically, every month you are paired up with another foodie and you send a package containing food to share and you in turn receive a food filled package from a different foodie. Then you tear into your goodies and post about how you ate everything in a matter of 2 days. Ok, maybe that last part is just me. No lies.

IMG_9333

My foodie gifter was Cat from Breakfast to Bed. She’s certainly a girl after my own heart. She was bubbly and kind and somehow, even though we never met or even really conversed for that long, she hit the bullseye with her box to me. All I told her was that I had no preferences (so decisive, I know) but I didn’t like bacon. But that I DO like food from all over.

1Β  Β Β 2

My box contained: a very sweet and hilarious note. No worries Cat, everyone spells my name wrong even when it’s right in front of them πŸ˜‰

IMG_9340

Pesto. I swear, she just KNEW somehow that I’ve been mulling over buying some to try!

IMG_9343

Turkish Caramels. These are basically nutty, chewy taffy. Delicious.

IMG_9341

Lard bread. It sounds weird but I bet it’s delicious. Unfortunately, thanks to Houston’s humidity, the loaf arrived moldy 😦 I was super bummed. Like, super super bummed. I envisioned it to be perfect sliced thick, slathered with avocado and tomatoes. Ugh, bummed.

IMG_9351

A Russian cake. This bad boy is about the size of a salad plate and it lasted about two days. I couldn’t stop picking at it. I want to go to NY JUST for a fresh slab of this cake. No lies. It is basically a cake version of babka. And smart me didn’t realize that I photographed the bottom of the cake until I was already halfway through eating it. Classy.

IMG_9348

And last but definitely not least, an authentic NY black and white cookie. I took a bit the second I unwrapped it. then I remember I was supposed to photograph the contents and quickly grabbed my camera so that I could continue eating this cookie. It was heaven. Now I want to visit NY even more.

IMG_9345

I loved every bit of food in this package. A successful first experience!! I’m positive that I thanked you profusely already, but I just want to say thank you once more. And I sincerely hope we can keep in touch. You know… in case I need a place to crash once I come to NY πŸ˜‰ Save a spot for me on the couch!!

If you’re curious as to what I sent to my foodie pen pal, head on over to Lindsay’s blog, Running with Tongs! I hope she loved it!!

3 thoughts on “My First Foodie Pen Pal

  1. hotovenwarmheart says:

    JEANNETTE!!! Your comment absolutely made my day πŸ™‚ I’m so glad to hear you haven’t forgotten about me, as I always considered you a friend that I just happen to meet through blogging. I’m sorry I haven’t stayed in touch, but I’d absolutely love to catch up when you have a chance. Here’s the email I use nowadays: hotovenwarmheart@gmail.com I hope we can pick up where we left off!

    I see you’re still a baking maven, and even though SMS is over, maybe we could pick some recipes to make and post together. What got me thinking was that delicious looking NY black and white cookie. When I was little and got to pick a special treat at the bakery, those were my first choice! I used to eat them evenly so that from start to finish I had equal parts vanilla and chocolate. I made them once a few years ago but it’d be great to try them again… something to think about!

    Hope you’re doing well and looking forward to hearing from you again soon!

    Fondly,
    Joy
    http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/

  2. Rachel says:

    i just joined food pen pal and can’t wait to start it! this all looks so delicious- and to think you could get it all for $15! NY is truly a wonderful place. i wish i could go soon, i haven’t been for years (and i’ve never been with the same appreciation for food that i have now!).

Leave a Reply

