63 thoughts on “Lemon Scented Pull-Apart Coffee Cake

  1. Well I am not really sure how this will turn out lol I followed the filling directions on the top and then by the time I got to the directions part, I saw that I messed up 😦 I melted the butter then added the zests. Seemed to actually be okay. Letting it rest again now in my mini-loaf stoneware.

    Jennifer
    jenscookingpad@yahoo.com

    • Renee, I might be willing to do that! I do want to make the cinnamon-sugar pull apart bread that uses the same recipe. If I do that, I’ll link them together πŸ™‚

  2. karen says:

    I love the looks of this and I am also a pull apart and treasure each bite person. I LOVE flaky biscuits. I am also a very visual person……i learn best by looking. Do you know when you will post the pictures of the pumpkin bread version? I look forward to seeing them and hope its real soon as I would like to try this…..Now LOL!
    Thanks for sharing !
    Karen

  3. Angelina Aurora says:

    Made this today as a cold day project πŸ™‚ ‘Lemon scented’ is a perfect description because it’s not overly lemony. The dough was soft and amazing to work with. One day I’ll try the pumpkin spice version.

  4. Hey, I found your blog through pinterest. I am going to have to try this bread. I often make homemade cinnamon rolls and could probably make this as a variation on my own sweet bread recipe. Thanks for posting!

  5. holly says:

    IS THERE ANY WAY TO SEND A COPY OF YOUR RECIPES TO MY EMAIL ADDRESS? I DON’T SEE THE EMAIL ICON TO LET ME DO IT, I WOULD LOVE THE LEMON SCENTED PUUL APART BREAD RECIPE AS WELL AS OTHERS.

  6. Angela says:

    I have a really beginner question: in the pumpkin version, you use bread flour instead of sifted flour. Can bread flour be substituted in this recipe’s dough? Thank you!

  7. Lu says:

    i just took it out of the oven! i am so so happy with how it came out because it was my first dough with yeast ever! i hope i didn’t underbake it because it feels a bit too soft on the sides but the crust on top began to become very very dark! I can’t wait to taste it with my friends, thank you for this lovely and unique recipe!

    greetings from germany
    Lu

  8. graymockingbird says:

    hmm, mine didn’t turn out very well; wouldn’t rise, and didn’t get very fluffy like yours looks. was a lot of work for a disappointing result! oh well 😦 would like to see an easier lemon bread recipe to practice with!

    • Chelsea says:

      I made this recipe as well as followed and mine did not rise. I think it was because I mixed the yeast into the dry ingredients. To make this dough rise make yeast mixture FIRST by mixing 1/4 warm water, 1 teaspoon sugar and 1 packet of yeast, and let it sit until it’s frothy, about 10 minutes. If it doesn’t become frothy the yeast is no longer usable. Then follow the other directions as followed. When I did it this way, my dough rose sooooooo much ( I let my dough rise for 5 hours so it would be very fluffy). Hope I helped πŸ™‚
      16 year old baker

  9. Ginger says:

    Delicious! After trying the first time, I substituted the lemon with 3 bars of chopped dark chocolate and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Also replaced the lemon in the frosting with a teaspoon or two of cinnamon. It was a hit and is now frequently requested!

  10. Chelsea says:

    made this today, but made a yeast mixture 1st (1/4 cup warm water, yeast packet, 1 teaspoon sugar), and followed the recipe as stated. Came out EXACTLY like photos. Melt in your moth & so yummy.
    16 year old baker πŸ™‚

  11. yourmomdesigns says:

    super impressed with this recipe, the instructions were really thorough and my end results were amazing, definitely trying to keep from eating all the amazing layers in one go. thanks for the recipe!

  12. Catherine says:

    I found this via pintrest…. And I’ve just stood in the kitchen and eaten 1/4 of the loaf straight out. I’ll be making it again. And again. And again.

  13. Linda Burt says:

    The method I use for these types of breads is to stand your loaf pan on end (narrow end down) and place the individual layers in the pan (instead of trying to pick up the stack and put it in the pan). Much easier.

    • I have chilled it overnight and baked the following morning. I put the dough in the fridge for the second rise, loosely covered with greased saran wrap (I sprayed Pam on it). In the morning, remove from the fridge and let it come to almost room temp (15-20 minutes) and bake per the recipe.

  14. Do you think it would be advisable to replace all or part of the milk in the dough with lemon juice to make it super lemony? I love the idea of a lemon pull apart but I want it to be super lemony, not just lemon scented πŸ™‚

  15. Anne says:

    I have had this pinned for a long time and was very excited to try it. It was a stucky mess and barely rose. I’m so dissapointed. I’m tempted to try again but I don’twant to waste more ingredients.

  16. Pingback: A Few Things…

Leave a comment