SMS – Chocolate Cream Caramels

IMG00910-20091230-0904 copy

Howdy ya’ll, I’m Jeannette and I’m super excited to be your hostess tonight. And no, I’m not Texan 😉

Thinking back, I don’t think I was ever put into a position where my “job” as hostess inspired such anxiety within my soul. I am constantly fidgeting and moving in my seat as I type this. So if this post seems out of sorts or scattered (well, more so than it usually is) shush it. I’m nervous and I tend to ramble. 😀

Most hostesses try to please everyone with their recipe choice: ease of instructions, ingredients on hand, time to make it, dishes dirtied, etc etc etc. Me, not so much. It basically boiled down to one thing, WWTFE: What Would The Fiance Eat? He’s picky and for once I wanted to make something he’d try without me having to bribe him with a new video game. Men. 😉 But to my surprise, the steps are fairly simple and straight forward, the ingredients list is minimal, its all done in ONE saucepan, and WHOOO doesn’t like caramel?! So I think I did pretty well. Don’t you? Please say you agree. I’ll buy you a video game…….?

Moving on, caramel has never been my friend, when it comes to making it anyhow. The first few times I can blame it on the fact that I used a meat thermometer in place of a candy thermometer. (If there’s no difference between the two, I’m still blaming the thermometer). That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. But I love caramels and I had a vision of salted caramels dancing in my head and I was determined. Thinking nothing could go wrong, I decided to make BOTH flavors of caramel. I grabbed my handy thermometer, with bloated self-esteem in tow and got to work.

Only to botch the first attempt (the Honey Cream Caramels).

IMG00889-20091229-1759 copy

It isn’t scorched, it isn’t inedible. It’s just hard. But the taste… oh my… it defines description. Deeeeelish. I assessed the situation and the problem and went on to try batch two (Chocolate Cream Caramels) and whatever I did, I did right!! I can finally add ‘candy making’ to the short list of things I have successfully accomplished in the kitchen! Hoorah!

Soft enough to chew, firm enough to get nice clean edges, tasty enough to eat an entire batch by myself. I hope you enjoyed these as much as I did. And if you didn’t master these, please try them again. They are worth it. Pinky swear!

I changed some things (due to forgetfulness and lack of ingredients, which I will note in red. Just in case anyone cares ;D)

Chocolate Cream Caramels

From the Sweet Melissa Baking Book

Recipe yields 2-1/2 pounds caramel (sixteen 2-inch squares or sixty-four 1-inch squares)

Ingredients:

1 cup light corn syrup

1/3 cup clover honey

2-1/3 cups sugar

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

2 cups heavy cream (I used 1-2/3 because I was short a tad)

1 tablespoon unsalted butter (I omitted simply because I forgot, oops)

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

4 ounces of best quality unsweetened chocolate (I used Ghittard)

Instructions:

BEFORE YOU START: Lightly butter (I used Pam) an 8 x 8 x 2 -inch square pan.

1. In a large nonreactive saucepan over medium heat, combine the corn syrup, honey, sugar, salt, havey cream, and butter. Cook, stirring continuously, until the mixture reaches 248°F (I pulled it off the stove once it reached roughly 242°F) on a candy thermometer (firm-ball stage). Remove from the heat.

1 2
3 4

2. Stir in the vanilla and 4 ounces of best quality unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped to the hot caramel mixture. Stir until smooth.

3. Pour the caramel into the prepared pan. Set aside, uncovered, in a cool place to firm up. (This is where I sprinkled on a bit of sea salt, if you like it.)

4. When firm, loosen the edges of the pan with a buttered knife. Turn out onto a clean work surface and, using a lightly buttered chef’s knife, cut into squares.

Wrap each square in wax paper. The caramels keep in an airtight container in a cool dry place for 2 weeks.

Well that’s my time folks. Head on over to the SMS board to learn any tips and/or tricks that were useful to the other bakers and make sure to check out the very talented assortment of SMS bakers on the SMS blogroll.

Good night everybody!
1 2

12 thoughts on “SMS – Chocolate Cream Caramels

  1. Jeanette,

    Your caramels look great. Love the addition of the salt. I was going to add Fleur de Sel but couldn’t find it in my pantry :o(

    Thank you so much for choosing this recipe. These caramels are delicious. I was going to skip these and then settled on making a 1/4 recipe. Boy, do I wish I made more, ha ha. I’m glad you and your fiance liked them. I’m sure he’d rather eat these than have a new video game (better say Yes to that Mister, cuz this lady worked hard for these caramels!!) ;o) Just kidding!

  2. I LOVE how straight your edges are! I thought mine were good, but I’d leave them for a few minutes and find little caramel puddles when I returned. Very funny you should mention using a meat thermometer. I just got my candy thermometer last year. Before that, I did use a meat thermometer without incident. My dang candy thermometer is the one that made me burn my butter toffee crunch a few months ago! I actually used both this time (just to see), and they were pretty much the same.

  3. You’re too funny Jeannette! Love this post. Why haven’t I ever thought to bribe my husband with video games to get him to eat new things?? I’m sure it would work perfectly 🙂

    Thanks for hosting this week! I’m actually not a fan of caramels in general but it was still fun to make these and add another type of candy to the list of things I’ve made. Yours look super!

  4. Your caramels look terrific, this was a fun choice! I like how you determined your selection; I consider myself very lucky that my boyfriend will basically eat anything with sugar and butter.

  5. Your caramels look fabulous! I am sorry I didn’t make these. 😦 I have to cut back…the budget is being pinched and my jeans are pinching me!!

  6. Robin says:

    Great pick Jeannette, I love making caramels but had never tried chocolate; they turned out perfect. Yours look yummy.

  7. junyl6 says:

    your caramels look yum!! things didn’t work out for me this time round, but I’m certainly going to give it another go after seeing your photos! (no video games required) xx

  8. hotovenwarmheart says:

    Oh Jeannette!

    I’m so proud of you- what an amazing SMS hostess you are! I’m so glad your week has finally arrived, and though I was a little late, I just couldn’t miss being a part of it! I had a great time with your super fun selection and it gave me a fantastic excuse to purchase a new digital candy thermometer (a gadget I’ve had my eye on for some time now… since the jam making obsession started this summer I think). Are you having a great time being our fearless lead baker? Your caramels look divine and I hope your fiance was thankful you chose something in his honor!

    I miss you and would love to catch up soon! I can’t wait to enjoy another fabulous year of baking and blogging together in 2010! Hope you’re doing well and I look forward to hearing from you when you have a chance- have a wonderful week!

    <3,
    Joy

Leave a comment